LEAVIN TRUNK

van gogh starry night

I went upstairs to pack my leavin trunk

I ain seen no whiskey baby 

since i been dunked…

these blues are made of solid rock

Last night I finished my novel about England! But today I am looking it over, making sure it has The Big Picture in mind and I did what I said I’d do.

Here is one thought. Just listen to some singer you like, emphasize a word.   (E.g., Taj Mahal’s breathing out ‘hhhhole’.) It’s wise to lay claim to your beliefs, voice and tone and be consistent. The trick is to do this creatively, and without preaching. I hope I was successful in this book, for example, having characters involved with nature worship and rituals. I was surprised at how, having laid claim to these concepts, the scenes, dialogue and rituals just flew into being. I ended up enjoying this book, a lot.

One of my favorite writers has always been George Eliot (Middlemarch).  But comparing her books to, say, Swift, I admit that he uses his imagination, sarcasm and bombast effectively. Discussing divisiveness, no one touches him.

HG Wells is brilliant & rather frightening in seeing ahead. However, much of the time he preaches, and it’s awful.

Two shining exceptions (with the creepiest looks into the future):http://www.gutenberg.org/files/775/775-h/775-h.htmand http://www.gutenberg.org/cache/epub/12163/pg12163.html (When the Sleeper Wakes).

A love story that also shows the future creatively is  http://www.readbookonline.net/readOnLine/10820/ (A Story of the Days to Come)  I don’t know many writers who are short of imagination or ideas for their books; but if you need some relaxing fiction, there you go. I admit that Sleeper gets carried away with descriptions of riots; but the other parts are kind of wonderful.

A helpful site for learning how to put your thoughts into shape:  http://writersinthestorm.wordpress.com. I’m considering some of their thoughts now, for straw men characters.  (Maybe they’re ok. Not sure yet.)

It’s worth looking at their insights. The current post seems to lean toward romance, but the ideas seem worthwhile, in general. 

 

 

  

 

Thank you again for your support! Keep writing. Mary Ann in Kathmandu, Nepal

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

