WRITERS GO THROUGH MORE

Writers deserve lots of admiration, and much, much praise.  BTW, if you seldom get any praise, read more. Do a search for ”Why I Write.’ You might not get much praise there either, but at least you’ll get an idea about why it’s worthwhile to continue.  D.H. Lawrence discussed his view of what happens to a writer stops being creative. The short story ‘Things’ is sad, but worth reading.

Looking back at the opera La bohème, I always fall in love with being a writer.

I love the entire opera, and especially the scene with the poet  smashing his furniture so he can heat his room. But it’s honest.  And I’ll be honest:  writing’s dicey.  I’ve learned to live as simply as possible; hopefully then I can write and publish without interruption when ‘reality’ strikes.  (Recently my sister paid a lot of bills that I’d already paid, using my emergency money.  Ah, and I was on planes and trains and buses. I can’t say I did real well with that…)

Another note, before I get on the next avalanche of trains, planes and buses. Last summer, for ‘Summer Reading,’ I referred you to the story by Isaac Bashevis Singer, Gimpel the Fool.   A friend just told me that my link  doesn’t work. He gave me the link to a free pdf file, online: http://www.srs-pr.com/literature/singer-gimpel.pdf.

(Could be the older link is part of a local error; but I tried using my vpn and still couldn’t get through to it.  So the pdf file is a better choice for you, wherever you are.)

Finally, I’ll mention Strunk and White again.  A rule I use many times a day now as I write about rural Oklahoma: always use a ”normal’ (not polysyllabic) word and not a $5 word.

For example, my hero picks up the phone, interrupting his ‘calculations.’ Now a phrase more likely to be used among rural folks there is ‘facts and figures.’ Or even just ‘figgers.’

Time for that bus.  Keep writing!  Best, Mary Ann

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

